Howard Goldstein, CLU, CHFC, President

Howard Goldstein Final-3264 websized-

A Message from the President

From generation to generation. In this case, the succession of Presidents. Thank you to all the Past Presidents who have given their time, dedication and loyalty to Temple Israel. We are blessed that we have a wonderful, energetic, vibrant and participating Temple Israel community. Thank you to Julia Zaias and her Nominating Committee that blended a wonderful mix of both experienced and new Board of Trustees members. I ask you for your help now. The backbone of any democratic society is the committee system. We cannot do it alone. We at Temple Israel have a very vibrant system with a long history. I encourage you to become active. Join a committee. Have fun and let your voice be heard. We have several committees: Sisterhood, Brotherhood, Membership, Education, Fundraising, Religious Affairs, Programming, Temple Israel Young Professionals Group, Social Justice, etc. We have something for everyone. I am honored, yet humbled to be Temple Israel’s next President. I am pumped up and excited as we progress to our 95th anniversary. In the United States only a handful of synagogues can make that statement. We at Temple Israel are in the elite few. Temple Israel is very well known. My vision is to enhance our visibility, our commitment to our community, social action and finally to continue to grow.

It is an honor to serve as President of Temple Israel. We wish everyone a happy, healthy and prosperous New Year.

Executive Board

Lance Harke, VP - Administration
Karen Weiss, VP - Education
Julia Zaias, DVM, Ph.D., VP - Fundraising
Robert Waxman, VP - Membership
Jonathan Neuman,VP - Programming
Diane King, Ph.D.,VP - Religious Affairs
Terry Tasker, Treasurer
Linda Datko, Secretary

Jean Logan and Nancy Dreyfuss
Sisterhood Co-Presidents

Pictured, right: (Back row): Jeff Stoffa, Leigh Rothschild, Robert Glazier, Marc Lamb, Howard Goldstein, Doug Jacobs
(Just below back row): Javier Berezdivin, Robert Waxman, Terry Tasker, Neil Rollnick, Jonathan Neumann
(Middle row): Donna Dambrot, Allison Atterberry, Karen Weiss, Jerry Engel
(Front row): Joan Schaeffer, Nancy Dreyfuss, Dr. Diane King, Linda Datko


    Allison Atterberry
    Javier Berezdivin
    Robert Glazer*
    Brian Hirsch
    Douglas M. Jacobs*
    Marc Lamb
        Neil Rollnick
        Leigh Rothschild
        Joan L. Schaeffer*
        Jeff Stoffa

Past Presidents

    Peter Bermont
    Dr. Joan Bornstein
    Marsha B. Elser
    Robert Glazier
    Douglas M. Jacobs
    Jane Kahn Jacobs
    Ben Kuehne
    Michael D. Orovitz
  • Norma Orovitz
  • Candace Ruskin
  • Joan L. Schaeffer
  • Jack Schillinger
  • Gerald K. Schwartz
  • Michael A. Silver
  • Stanley G. Tate
  • Henry E. Wolff, Jr.

Advisory Council

    Douglas M. Jacobs*, Chair
    Joan L. Schaeffer*
    Leonard L. Abess
    Ali Baltodano
    Robert Cava, M.D.
      Jerry Engel
        Joe Farcus
        Michael Graubert, MD
        John Kanter
        Betsy Kaplan
        Lawrence Leitner
        Gail Lewis
        Marlin Lewis**
    Merri Mann
    S. Ronald Pallot
    Kenneth D. Rosen
    Wendy Saltzburg
      Neil Schaffel
      Brenda Shapiro
      Sandra Simon
      Mark Teitelbaum
      Mark Walker, M.D.
      Lisa Waxman
      Nora Weinreich
      Ted Weinreich
*Past President **In Memoriam